July 2, 2022 2:30 pm - August 27, 2022 4:00 pm Malcolm Smith Gallery

The only contemporary art award in Aotearoa New Zealand with ecology at its core.

Artists have been invited to research and respond to the Tāmaki estuary – to underscore the ecological value of this vital waterway, and to encourage action against its pollution.

With a total prize pool of $10,000, this year the award ceremony will again celebrate the winning artworks chosen by our judge. Returning as judge is Francis McWhannell, who will select artworks for the 16th Estuary Art and Ecology Award based on their innovative and intelligent response to ecology and the Tāmaki Estuary. He has also selected a number of other entries for display outside the main gallery. These entries will also be open for the Rice Family Partnership’s People’s Choice Award.

Saturday 2 July – 27 August 2022

Wesley John Fourie – First Prize
Perry Projects – Second Prize
Rozana Lee – Third Prize
Ramon Robertson – Merit
Alby Yap – Merit
Amanda Watson
Celeste Sterling
Agnès Desombiaux Sigley
Daisy Nicholas
Milvia Romici
Mā Te Huruhuru Artists
Jill McArthur
Richard Osborne
Gillian Green
Ekaterina Dimieva
Suzette van Dorsser
Gail Barratt
Maggy J
Phillippa Bentley
Ainsley O’Connell